Is Smoking Weed A Sin?

In today’s society, smoking marijuana and other recreational drugs has become too regular. It is not strange to see celebrities and other influential people publicly admit to using marijuana.

In some places of the world, smoking weed has been legalized, but for us Christians, the question remains: is smoking weed a sin?

The answer to the question “Is smoking weed is a sin?” can be controversial. Some people use marijuana for recreational purposes, while others use it for medicinal purposes and to relieve pain.

Others argue that because God created weed, it is undoubtedly good. Yes, God created everything, and everything he made was wonderful, but when we don’t use what God created the way he intended, it becomes a sin.

God created love-making, and while it is good, it becomes a sin when we do not follow God’s purpose for love-making. Taking or smoking marijuana to get high does not glorify God in any way.

God created the cannabis plant, from which weed is derived, yet it can be utilized for purposes other than getting high.

An article on Healthline states that the Cannabis plant’s stalks and stems can be used for industrial purposes (e.g., hemp fiber), and the seed can be used for food and home purposes (e.g hemp seed or oil)

Weed has been given several names, including Marijuana, Cannabis, pot, grass, ganja, etc. Weed, often known as marijuana, is a greenish-grey mixture of dried flowers of Cannabis sativa, according to the National Institute of Health.

It can be ingested or smoked in hand-rolled cigarettes known as joints or wrapped in cigarette wraps known as blunts.

It can also be ingested through foods. Marijuana can cause euphoria, interfere with decision-making, and impair judgment.

Is Smoking Mentioned In The Bible?

Many people ask, is smoking mentioned in the Bible? The Bible does not directly mention smoking, but many Bible verses can help us comprehend what God says about smoking weed.

It is reasonable that the Bible does not address smoking weed; such substances were not available in those days. Nonetheless, some Bible verses will provide context and answer the question, is smoking a sin?

1.  The Bible Condemns Drunkenness

The Bible does not explicitly address smoking, although it does mention drunkenness and condemns it numerous times. Smoking and drunkenness provide the same feelings of highness and ecstasy.

I.  Do not join those who drink too much wine or gorge themselves on meat, for drunkards and gluttons become poor, and drowsiness clothes them in rags- Proverbs 23:20-‬21 NIV‬‬‬‬‬‬

II.  Wine is a mocker and beer a brawler; whoever is led astray by them is not wise- Proverbs 20:1 NIV

III.  Now the works of the flesh are manifest, which are these; Adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, idolatry, witchcraft, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions, heresies, envyings, murders, drunkenness, revellings, and such like: of the which I tell you before, as I have also told you in time past, that they which do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God- Galatians 5:19-‬21 KJV‬‬‬‬‬‬

IV.  Don’t be drunk with wine, because that will ruin your life. Instead, be filled with the Holy Spirit- Ephesians 5:18 NLT

2.  Everything Isn’t Helpful

God has given us the ability to choose; he does not force us to do anything. However, while you may be authorized to do anything, not everything is good or valuable to you.

You say, “I am allowed to do anything” but not everything is good for you. And even though “I am allowed to do anything,” I must not become a slave to anything- 1 Corinthians 6:12 NLT

3.  Everything You Do Should Glorify God

The Bible tells us that whatever we eat, drink, or ingest into our bodies must glorify God So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God- 1 Corinthians 10:31 NLT

4.  Submit To Your Authorities

Marijuana smoking is illegal in several parts of the world, and the Bible teaches Christians to obey the laws and rules of the land.

Everyone must submit to governing authorities. For, all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God.

So anyone who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and they will be punished. The authorities are God’s servants, sent for your good.

But if you are doing wrong, of course, you should be afraid, for they have the power to punish you. They are God’s servants, sent for the very purpose of punishing those who do what is wrong- Romans 13:1-‬2, ‬4 NLT‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬

5.  You Are A Living Sacrifice

We no longer need to make sacrifices to speak with God because of Jesus Christ.

Our bodies are now living sacrifices presented to God, and the word of God tells us to present our bodies as a living and holy sacrifices, and to do so, we must present ourselves holy and sinless.

And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice the kind he will find acceptable.

This is truly the way to worship him- Romans 12:1 NLT

6.  Do Not Copy The World

The Bible instructs us not to imitate the ways of the world; we are God’s chosen people, to be holy as God is holy. Therefore, do not be swayed by peer pressure or the media’s portrayal of drugs.

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.

Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect-Romans 12:2 NLT

7.  Spend Money Wisely

Don’t waste money on things that don’t benefit you; instead, spend it more intelligently. Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy?

Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare- Isaiah 55:2 NIV

8.  Weed And Idolatry

Anything you can’t live without has turned into a god. So if you grow addicted to using weed, it has become an idol to you. Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry.1 Corinthians 10:4

9.  Weed And Slavery

God has set you free from bonds and servitude, but when you use drugs like marijuana and grow addicted to them, you enslave yourself again.

They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity—for “people are slaves to whatever has mastered them.” 2 Peter 2:19 NIV

10.  God Will Give You Rest

One of the reasons people use weed is to escape the monotony of daily life, tension, and anxiety.

However, God informs us that if we are tired, weak, or dejected, we can come to him, and he will offer us rest.

I.  Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls- Matthew 11:28-29 NIV

II.  The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit- Psalms 34:18 NIV

III.  He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away”- Revelation 21:4 NIV

11.  Weed And Self-Control

When you use psychoactive drugs, it is difficult to maintain control of yourself, and you may make costly mistakes that will harm you. Like a city whose walls are broken through is a person who lacks self-control- Proverbs 25:28 NIV

12.  Don’t Do What You Are In Doubt About

If you are wondering if smoking weed is a sin and you go ahead to smoke, you have condemned yourself because you are in doubt of what you are doing.

But if you have doubts about whether or not you should eat something, you are sinning if you go ahead and do it. For you are not following your convictions.

If you do anything you believe is not right, you are sinning- Romans 14:23 NLT

Can Smokers Go To Heaven?

The answer to the question, “Can smokers go to heaven?” is that anyone can go to heaven if they accept Jesus as their savior and repent of their sins.

Effects Of Smoking

The effects of smoking marijuana or any other chemical on the body are substantial.

According to Web MD and Medical News Today, the primary psychoactive element in the Cannabis plant, THC, stimulates the portion of your brain that responds to pleasure, releasing dopamine, which gives you a sensation of euphoria and highness.

Smoking marijuana might make you feel uncomfortable, fearful, paranoid, and out of touch with reality. In addition, smoking might impair your judgment and impair your motor skills.

Bible Verses For Addiction

In this section, I’ve gathered a compilation of bible verses for addiction to give you hope of God’s faithfulness. God loves you and he is always there to assist you.

1.  And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm, and steadfast- 1 Peter 5:10 NIV

2. I can do all this through him who gives me strength- Philippians 4:13 NIV

3.  For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline- 2 Timothy 1:7 NLT

4.  No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it- 1 Corinthians 10:13 NIV

5. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed- John 8:36 NIV

6.  It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery- Galatians 5:1 NIV

7.  This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for he faced all of the same testings we do, yet he did not sin. So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most- Hebrews 4:15-‬16 NLT‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬

8.  I lift up my eyes to the mountains where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth- Psalms 121:1-‬2 NIV‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬

9.  For sin shall no longer be your master because you are not under the law, but under grace- Romans 6:14 NIV

10.  For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him- John 3:17 NIV

Prayers For Drug Addiction

It can be tough to stay away from weed due to withdrawal symptoms, but we can always turn to God for help when our strength when fails. In this section is a list of five prayers for Addiction

1.  Father in Heaven, I come today to your throne of grace, Lord, have mercy on me and forgive me, cleanse me from all sins. I acknowledge you as my Lord and Saviour. Amen

2.  Dear Lord! I surrender my life to you today, knowing that I have no power of my own. Please take complete control of my life, set me free from Satan’s chains, and give me a whole new heart in Jesus’ name.

3.  Lord Jesus, I pray that you give me the strength and grace to keep going and that you assist me to return to the original plan you have for my life. Amen

4.  Lord, I lift my head to you; you are my helper. I pray that you assist me in withdrawing from this addiction; give me the courage and strength to bear it all in Jesus’ name.

5.  I pray to you, Almighty God, that you grant me the grace to be sober today and forever. Remove every spirit of dread, anxiety, or despair that would cause me to turn back, and grant me a sound mind in Jesus’ name.

6.  Lord Jesus, I release my resentment, anger, depression, and anxiety and I lay them at your feet. I ask for complete deliverance from drug addiction. I bind and break the spirit of addiction over my life. Jesus is Lord over me and no one else.

7.  Father God, I run towards you with open arms. I’ve been fighting on my own but I now know this battle is not for me, it is for you Lord. Grant me the strength to stay sober and let my life become a testimony so that others can see me and know that there is nothing impossible for you to do.

8.  Lord, please open my eyes to the truth, break the chains of addiction, and cut off any relationship with any person enabling me to use drugs. Draw me back to you oh Lord. In Jesus’ name Amen

9.  Lord Jesus, I come before you today for help and support. I ask for deliverance from all addictions, help me choose you today and forever. Amen

10.  In Jesus’ name, I announce that I am free from the shackles of addiction; the Son has set me free, so I am truly free. Amen

Conclusion‬‬‬‬‬‬

I hope you found this article on Is smoking a sin helpful. I also pray that if you are battling drug addiction, God will provide you with the assistance you need.

God loves us all and is deeply concerned about our well-being; he is always there to lead you down the right path. If you’re unsure about something you are doing, pray about it and ask the Holy Spirit to reveal the truth to you.

Save this for later!

Sharing is caring!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started